Today’s Affirmation: My goal is to please God.

Today’s Affirmation: My goal is to please God. 

What are your goals? Do we act intentionally towards goals or just let life happen? 

This affirmation comes from 2 Corinthians 5:9. “So we make it our goal to please him, whether we are at home in the body or away from it.” (NIV) 

Is our number ONE goal to please God the Father? I have been guilty of squeezing God into spaces around my worldly goals. What a huge mistake and wasted years given to the evil one. 

2 Corinthians speaks of how we would prefer to live in our heavenly homes versus our current earthly homes. Since we want to one day live in heaven with God we make it our goal to please Him, whether here or there. 

Looking beyond our earthly existence would certainly be considered a long term goal.  Do we start with goals that affect eternity first and then work our way back to our goals for today? 

I have set too many goals to be someone I am not. Do we set personal goals based on who God created us to be or who the world tells us to be? 5:11 is a profound verse: What we are is plain to God, and I hope it is also plain to your conscience.” What or who we are is plain to God and hopefully it is plain to us. Hmmm, is it plain or clouded by what others or the world has told us we should be? 

5:15 states: … “those who live should no longer live for themselves but for him who died for them and was raised again.” May we live for Jesus and set our goals to be pleasing to Him today.

1. Who do you live for?

2. Are your current goals pleasing to God?

3. Are your goals true to whom and what you are? Is that plain to you?

4. Do you set goals to be someone else or be you?

5. Do you find a different affirmation in these scriptures?

God grant me the confidence and faith to live for you today. Help me to embrace who I am. Make it plain to me and may I please you today. 

Tom Raines

Christian Affirmations4Life

About Tom Raines

Husband, father and son who is a treasure hunter in the Word of God. Finding joy,strength and hope while affirming the characteristics and qualities God created for us and described for us in His Holy Scriptures.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Today’s Affirmation: My goal is to please God.

  1. Tom: it is my conviction that this should be my main goal in all of life, in all I do. We use it for worship but it should also be 24/7 (which is worship): “It is not about me.” When we use that phrase to guide our lives it makes a big difference in what we do and how we see things. Good thoughts today.

    • tomraines says:

      Thanks Bill. I so agree that all I want 24/7 is to be pleasing to Him and be who He wants me to be. If I would go there FIRST it would make a big difference. Thank you for your awesome blog today. I can relate and really love honesty and healing!! Have a great day!

  2. debi says:

    really appreciate these – who are you?

  3. tomraines says:

    ha! I didn’t realize my name isn’t on anything. I don’t think we know each other. I believe the first time you stopped in you had gotten here through Robin Rane (Robin Gay)blog :allthingsheartandhome.com. My name is Tom Raines and I live in Georgia and knew Robin in High School. Does that help?

Leave a Reply

